Skip to content

I would refuse You still

August 29, 2010

I really loved one of the songs we sang at Sunday service this morning. It is called “All I Have is Christ” by Jordan Kauflin. One of the lines in the song goes like this:

And if You had not loved me first
I would refuse You still.

This part reminded me of all the darker periods of my life while growing up and even through college, about how often I refused Him to pursue worldly passions instead. It’s with a mixture of sadness, regret, awe and wonder, that I look back and see how the Father loved me first and drew me to Himself, despite myself. Praise be to Most High God for the grace and mercy He showed us, while our hearts were wicked and we shook our fists at Him in rebellion.

Read the rest of the lyrics to this song below:

I once was lost in darkest night
Yet thought I knew the way.
The sin that promised joy and life
Had led me to the grave.
I had no hope that You would own
A rebel to Your will.
And if You had not loved me first
I would refuse You still.

But as I ran my hell-bound race
Indifferent to the cost
You looked upon my helpless state
And led me to the cross.
And I beheld God’s love displayed
You suffered in my place
You bore the wrath reserved for me
Now all I know is grace.

Hallelujah! All I have is Christ
Hallelujah! Jesus is my life

Now, Lord, I would be Yours alone
And live so all might see
The strength to follow Your commands
Could never come from me.
Oh Father, use my ransomed life
In any way You choose.
And let my song forever be
My only boast is You.

© 2008 Sovereign Grace Praise (BMI), by Jordan Kauflin

If you want to hear or purchase the song, you can find it here.

No comments yet

Leave a comment